What Are Arizona DUI Laws?
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious crime. Operating a vehicle while drunk or drugged can cause serious injuries or result in the loss of life. When it comes to DUI, Arizona is a no-tolerance state. That means you can be arrested if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) that is higher than the legal limit, which is .08 percent. The state has three different kinds of DUIs, with each giving consideration to the BAC level, any previous DUI convictions, and whether you had minors in the vehicle you were operating. The more serious your DUI charges, the greater the fines and the penalties you will face under Arizona DUI laws.
In Arizona, Is A DUI Considered A Felony?
In some situations, a DUI can be classified as DUI charges. There are felony DUI charges in the state. According to ARS 28-1382, a driver is charged with extreme DUI if he or she is driving or in physical control of a vehicle within a two-hour time-frame of having an alcohol concentration higher than .15, which resulted from alcohol consumption either before driving or while operating the vehicle. Extreme DUI has greater penalties than a typical DUI.
If you have a BAC that is higher than .15 but lower than .20, you will face a minimum fine of $250, face at least 30 days in jail and not be eligible for probation or suspension of the sentence unless you have served all your time, pay an additional $250 fee to the state or city treasurer dependent on where the conviction took place, and then pay $1,000 to have an interlock device installed on your vehicle’s ignition for a period of one-year.
In the event your BAC is higher than .20, you are facing a minimum $500 fine, a minimum 45-day jail sentence without eligibility for probation or a suspension unless you serve your entire sentence, an additional $250 fee to a state or city treasurer that is dependent on the location where the conviction happened, and a $1,000 fee for the installation of an interlock device on your vehicle’s ignition for a one-year period.
According to ARS 28-1383, an individual can be charged with aggravated DUI if an extreme DUI or misdemeanor DUI if a child younger than 15 years of age was in the vehicle at the time you were charged with DUI, your driver’s license was revoked or suspended at the time you were charged with DUI, you have two previous DUI offenses within the last seven years, and you were arrested after a judge had ordered you to use an interlock device on your vehicle ignition.
An aggravated DUI conviction can lead to a minimum of eight months in jail with no eligibility for probation or suspension of the sentence unless the full sentence has been served, driver’s license suspended for a year, having an interlock device installed on your vehicle ignition for at least two years, a minimum $740 fine, and paying an additional $1,500 fine to the state, county, or city treasurer that is dependent on where you were convicted. In addition, you will be required to attend a drug or alcohol education, drug screening or treatment program. You can face additional jail time if you don’t complete the program as you were ordered to do.
While you could be charged with a felony for your DUI charge for other reasons, these are the most common reasons a drunk driver faces felony charges for DUI in Arizona. If you are facing a DUI felony charge, you should consult with an Arizona DUI attorney. A criminal law attorney can help those facing the different kinds of DUI charges that could be faced if they have a BAC above the legal limit under Arizona DUI laws.