Arizona law recognizes three “degrees” of burglary, but all burglaries in Arizona are prosecuted as felonies, and if you are charged with burglary, you’re going to need legal help immediately. You’ll need the aggressive representation of an experienced Phoenix criminal defense lawyer. Don’t try to act as your own attorney, and don’t accept any plea bargain before receiving a defense attorney’s advice. If you’re convicted of a felony, you could serve time in an Arizona state prison, and the conviction will follow you for the rest of your life. The burglary charges and penalties in Arizona are:
- Third-degree burglary is a Class 4 felony; a conviction is punishable by 18 months to three years in prison. Third-degree burglary is the charge if you illegally enter a nonresidential structure or a fenced-in area to commit a theft or felony, or if you use any burglary tools to enter a vehicle illegally.
- Second-degree burglary is a Class 3 felony; a conviction is punishable by two-and-a-half to 7 years in prison. Second-degree burglary is the charge if you illegally enter a residence or a residential structure such as an apartment building to commit a theft or felony.
- First-degree burglary is any burglary committed with a firearm or some other deadly weapon. If a first-degree burglary is committed at a residence or a residential structure, it is a Class 2 felony punishable upon conviction by 4 to 10 years in prison. Apart from burglaries at residences or residential structures, first-degree burglary is a Class 3 felony in Arizona punishable by two-and-a-half to 7 years in prison.
You can be convicted of burglary without actually taking anything. Illegal entry with merely the intent to take something is sufficient to constitute burglary. If you or someone you love is charged with burglary in Phoenix or anywhere in the state of Arizona, get high-quality legal help at once – contact an experienced Phoenix criminal defense lawyer as quickly as possible.