Police Body Cam Shows Bride Got Arrested for DUI
Sometimes crime seems absurd. That was certainly the case last year when we heard about the “DUI Bride.” If you do not remember, here is a brief refresher.
In March of 2018, a woman was involved in a crash in Southern Arizona. She was wearing a white wedding dress and told police that she was on her way to her own wedding.
The Marana PD released a Tweet (because that is how we seem to get information now) that said, “A driver was arrested for DUI this AM while driving to her wedding. @MaranaPD officers arrived at OG/Thornydale at approx. 1030 reference to a three vehicle collision. One person was transported with minor injuries. Don’t drive impaired, till death do we part doesn’t need any help.”
The story went viral at the time. The supposed bride, Amber Young, was arrested and charged with DUI. The police said her blood alcohol content was nearly twice the legal limit. Young and her attorney disputed that she said she was going to her wedding and even claimed she was not wearing a dress.
Now, the department has released the body cam footage of the incident that confirms Young saying she was going to her wedding and was just nervous.
She has since pleaded guilty to extreme DUI and criminal damage caused to the vehicles involved in the crash.
Wait, there are different levels of DUI in Arizona?
We highlighted the words extreme DUI because it differs from a regular DUI. Many people in Arizona or just passing through the state are not aware that there are multiple levels of DUI charges here. They are all based on a person’s blood-alcohol level at the time of an arrest.
- The BAC content level for DUI in Arizona is .08%.
- There are three levels of DUI – standard, extreme, super extreme.
A Standard DUI for those with a BAC above .08, a person can face the following consequences:
- 10 days jail time
- $1,500 fine
- 90 license suspension
- Interlock device for 1 year
- Alcohol evaluation/treatment program
The consequences for an Extreme DUI (BAC above .15%) and super extreme DUI (BAC above .20%) are additional jail time and higher fines. With all DUI cases, a second offense significantly raises the consequences.
A person can also face aggravated DUI charges if they drive with a suspended or revoked license, are charged with a third DUI is 84 months, are drunk driving with someone under 15 years of age in the vehicle, or refuse a blood alcohol test while under an ignition interlock requirement. Aggravated DUIs could lead to 18 months to 3 years in prison.
State DUI statistics
We know that during the latest full reporting year in Arizona, there were over 26,000 DUI arrests. The average blood alcohol content for these arrests was .151, meaning that most were extreme DUI arrests. Drinking and driving continues to be a leading cause of traffic deaths in the state.
There were 4,854 alcohol-related crashes in Arizona during the latest reporting year. They caused:
- 3,095 injuries
- 320 fatalities
What you need to do now
If you or someone you care about has been charged with DUI, you need to secure legal assistance as soon as possible. An Arizona criminal defense attorney will examine all aspects of your case and work to help come up with a plan moving forward. The goal is to get your charges reduced or dismissed altogether. DUI convictions have major consequences. Along with the possibility of jail time, a person also faces a criminal record and higher insurance rates.
Click here for information on what happens after a first offense misdemeanor in Arizona?