In the state of Arizona, a robbery is committed if someone “threatens or uses force against any person with intent either to coerce surrender of property or to prevent resistance to such person taking or retaining property.” While a burglary is a theft that’s committed surreptitiously, a robbery involves coercion, violence, or the threat of violence to take personal property directly from the victim. If you are charged with robbery for any reason – now or in the future – in Phoenix or anywhere in Arizona, take your case at once to an experienced Phoenix criminal defense attorney. You’re going to need high-quality defense representation – fast.
Arizona law specifies three distinct robbery charges. Most robberies in Arizona are “simple” robberies prosecuted as Class 4 felonies, and a conviction is punishable by 18 months to 3 years in prison. If you commit a robbery with one or more accomplices, you could be charged with aggravated robbery, a Class 3 felony, punishable upon conviction by 2 to 7 years in prison. Armed robbery – even if the weapon is a toy gun, provided the victim believes that it’s real – is a Class 2 felony in Arizona, punishable upon conviction by 4 to 10 years in an Arizona state prison. Because armed robbery poses life-threatening risks to the public, some amount of time behind bars is almost inevitable if you are convicted.
Robbery penalties are serious penalties in Arizona. Still, you could be accused of a robbery because of a misunderstanding, a misidentification, or because the robbery story itself was fabricated. Whatever the truth is, your attorney will find it and fight aggressively for justice on your behalf. If you or someone you love is charged with robbery in the Phoenix area or anywhere in the state, you’ll need the advice and services that an experienced Phoenix criminal defense attorney can provide, and you’ll need to make the call as quickly as possible.